Home >



The 2008 National Earthquake Conference is chaired by the four national earthquake and emergency consortia groups (NESEC, CUSEC, WSSPC, and CREW) funded by FEMA under the National Earthquake Program, the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) and the Emergency Preparedness for Industry and Commerce Council (EPICC) of British Columbia, Canada.

These four consortia along with EERI and EPICC, united to organize a national conference, to address the urgent problem of earthquake risk reduction. The Conference is funded and supported by DHS/FEMA and USGS.

          Conference Chairs:

Western States Seismic Policy Council (WSSPC)

The mission of the Western States Seismic Policy Council is to develop seismic policies and share information to promote programs intended to reduce earthquake-related losses.


Northeast States Emergency Consortium (NESEC)
The Northeast States Emergency Consortium (NESEC) is a not-for-profit "all hazards" mitigation and emergency management organization that develops, promotes and coordinates natural disaster and emergency management activities throughout the Northeast.

Central United States Earthquake Consortium (CUSEC)

The Central U.S. Earthquake Consortium is a partnership of the federal government and the eight states most affected by an earthquake in the New Madrid Seismic Zone: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee. CUSEC's primary mission is, "... the reduction of deaths, injuries, property damage and economic losses resulting from earthquakes in the Central United States."

Cascadia Region Earthquake Workgroup (CREW)

The Cascadia Region Earthquake Workgroup (CREW) is a coalition of private and public representatives working together to improve the ability of Cascadia Region communities to reduce the effects of earthquake events.

Emergency Preparedness for Industry and Commerce Council (EPICC)
EPICC is a nonprofit government endorsed society supported by and for the benefit of business and institutions throughout British Columbia, to influence and help                                           businesses to prepare for emergencies and disasters.

Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI)
The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute is a national, nonprofit, technical society of engineers, geoscientists, architects, planners, public                                                   officials, and social scientists. EERI members include researchers, practicing                                                   professionals, educators, government officials, and building code regulators.

             Supported By:

U.S. Department of Homeland Security FEMA

U.S. Geological Survey

National Institute of Standards and Technology

National Science Foundation

Webmaster | Last Updated January 17, 2008


The Steering Committee of the 2008 National Earthquake Conference is doing business as Washington State University.